Hi... I have a 23 months old baby in laws not very supportive... So even today I declined a job offer cos no one to take care of my baby... I am post graduate in English Litt has almost 7yrs of working experience.. writing is my passion, I did many editorial work.. before my marriage I had been very independent and now I want to do something.. I have visited many sites of freelance but I can't get help... Please can anyone of suggest me any good site or idea about how to work from home and earn... Please.

13 Replies
 profile icon
Write a reply
VIP Member

I'm a freelancer with 4 jobs, and I've also done blogging for a bit - so I guess I could help in one way or another? First of all, freelance jobs aren't something that people really advertise on, so you would probably have to seek them out yourself. If you don't have a blog/anywhere to showcase your work, it'll be good to keep some copies to show potential employers what you can do! Having said that, I feel that it's a lot better for you to decide what kind of writing you want to do before looking for opportunities - and you'd need to find the right employers who would be understanding of your situation too. My advice would be to STAY AWAY from anything you don't want to associate yourself with, or anything that isn't your passion/interest - while it can bring you income, you'd probably kill yourself internally doing it. Freelancers seem to have the freedom of time and money, but do note that salary is likely to get delayed too because you're at the bottom of the work chain. Some take as long as till the mid of the following month to give you your salary (eg. January's salary would be credited to you in mid February) so you have to make sure you talk things through - also, freelancers usually don't have any CPF contribution because they say you are not "an official employee". You'd also want to consider how much you can commit because you can either go through the fixed rate or pay-by-project route - so it's a dif