just to check, if ur kid get 197 for psle, will u advise ur kid to go neighbourhood Express stream or a better school but normal stream?

10 Replies
 profile icon
Write a reply

With e score, i will go for NA. I believe u know whr ur child's standard is. Itz not so much abt how gd e sch is but how ur child is gonna cope when he enters sec1. In a so called gd sch, there is bound to be stress. I'm a tutor & hv heard many cases whr students r very stressed up. I hope that parents will go for wad is best for e child & not let our child enter a sch or stream based on our expectations. Every sch teaches e right values & morals and every sch has gd teachers. By the way, parents r supposed to teach their child morals & values, and not juz depend on e sch to teach all these. Teachers hv their jobs to do which is to teach well. Tis is a teacher's job which parents muz truly understand.

Read more

There is really no significant difference btn 197 and 200 which is the usually express stream score. I think I would ask my child which he/she prefers. There are other factors like distance from home, cca available, opportunities available and where friends are going. I dun think he will struggle much in express or normal acad. if u do choose to go na, some schools have the policy of upgrading to express if u score 70% or something like that for average at the EOY exams. I would go express and not waste the additional year. The gap from N level and O level is a bit big and some pple find it hard to bridge the gap due to different style of testing

Read more
VIP Member