Raw oysters during pregnancy?

Hi mummies :< this might seem like a very small problem to my friends, family and even husband, maybe to some of you too.. but i have been craving raw oysters every single day for the past 2-3 months. i am currently 21 weeks and i have been crying/breaking down several times the past few days whenever i get hungry because the temptation to eat it is just so strong, might be hormones messing me up too but i have been very depressed honestly. are there any substitutes i can replace it with? similar texture/taste? ive never been a fan of cooked oysters, i would throw up whenever i eat them, even before pregnancy too. so i was wonder if there are substitutes or other foods i can replace raw oysters with.. please help mummies, i know its a small issue to just endure for another 5 months, but i am desperate

11 Replies
 profile icon
Write a reply

No I would avoid at all cost for baby. I have a family member who spam raw oysters during her pregnancy, gave birth to a son in a special spectrum, abit slow to develop and had to be enrolled in a special school. The boy is about 7 now and he still cannot walk properly. The whole family blame it on the oyster diet during the mother pregnancy. I’m not even sure if there are any scientific link to the oysters, but my mother kept reminding me that raw food is bad for baby development. So I think best to listen and avoid??

Read more
10mo ago

My parents are stressing me out over it.

same like you.. i had that cravings too and would cry so bad thinking about it. my mom told me to ahead and just have 2 or 3 oysters and that's it. i even had sushi too. but really just alil. and that was when i was in my third trimester.. just make sure th place that serve th oysters are clean. and th oysters are freshhhh! thats very important.. all th best mummy.

Read more