First time bringing my 1 year old overseas. On the plane ride, should I request for a bassinet? Or jus let my LO sit on my Lap? During take off, do I strap my LO with me under the seat belt ? Pls share as this is my first time bringing my baby on board the plane .. feeling the jitters

10 Replies
 profile icon
Write a reply

In addition to what others say. I assume that you have gotten a bassinet seat that's why you can request for a bassinet. They will only give bassinet after take off and take it before touch down. Also, you need to take baby out of bassinet during turbulence. So when baby is fast asleep and during turbulence you may need to take baby out which may wake her. Bummer! But if baby is not a light sleeper then yay for you! :-) Keep your baby carrier handy just in case baby gets fidgety and you need to comfort him/ her. Bring some of baby's fave things and get the vomit bag ready as well :-) Have fun on your trip.

Read more

i just flew with my 1 year old boy , 7-8 hrs flight to melbourne. the bassinet was good as he slept inside for the night flight. the only bad thing is when the seat belt sign is on, i had to carry him and strap him with me. but he didnt wake up cos he was too tired. i brought alot of snacks for him to chew on when he fusses on our return flight (in the afternoon) - he needed alot of entertainment. the snacks helped . be prepared to walk him down the aisle a few times when baby is feeling bored. don't worry , u will survive just fine, enjoy ur hols!

Read more

Note that ur LO who will be1+ year may not be able to fit into a bassinet already unless he/she is petite. Cause on average a bassinet can only fit abt a 10 months old Extra baby seat belt will be provided by have to strap the LO both take off n landing For me I gave fruits to my LO during landing .. there shouldn't be much of a problem with taking off though

Read more