How do mummies cope w taking care of newborn

Rather clueless after confinement nanny left. How do new moms cope? Can’t figure out why baby cries sometimes. Stressful

5 Replies
 profile icon
Write a reply

I agree with the post. Newborns are driven by basic needs: usually I'll check if it's time for feeds / diaper change/ needs a good burp after feeds. Im a solo caregiver in the day and I can say I am not good at telling her cues. For me, most of my baby's cries early on were all for feeds. Till now she doesn't cry over dirty diapers. Now that she is a bit older she does cry when she wants comfort and when she's overtired. She also fusses when she's a bit gassy. I only got better at reading her cues at 4mths postpartum but I have to say sometimes it's a bit of a hit and miss too. When my bb turned 2 mths, she lost her newborn sleepiness and I tried watching her cues for sleep and it honestly failed quite terribly for me. What helped me was having a routine and I watch the clock instead for naps and bedtime. So her feeds all fall within the designated wake times. Every child is different though and you may have to do a bit of trial and error to figure out what works for you and your bb. Be kind and patient to both yourself and your bb! I tell myself to always prioritize some self-care first, if I have to choose between chores and self-care. You are doing your best!

Read more
VIP Member