Breast pump issues

Hi mummies, This is my first time bf my baby. My baby latches for like 30-45 mins each side during feeding ( cause she keeps falling asleep till I rub her ears then she will start drinking again). I feel very exhausted cause of this as she feeding lasted for about 45min but in 2 hour time she’s hungry again. I consulted the lactation counsellor at kkh and they advice to pump out excess milk after each latching session so that can measure her intake. I bought a pump from shoppee but my nipples hurt after 10 mins of pumping. Any experience bf mums can help? I’m so clueless. Baby is going 2 months old and I’ve survived so far with 2-4 hours of sleep daily.

6 Replies
 profile icon
Write a reply

I’m an exclusive pumping mummy (I used to latch but it’s too tiring) so I can only advise you on the pumping part. Your nipples should not hurt during/after pumping, if this happens, most likely you are using the wrong flange size. You can either have a LC measure your flange size or buy a nipple ruler (Legendairy has them on shopee). Using the wrong flange size will not only cause pain in the nipples, it will also affect your yield. Since you are already latching baby for so long, keep the pumping time at 10~15 mins, then overtime increase to 20 mins when your nipples gets used to it. You can apply coconut oil/nipple cream before you pump to minimise friction and tears. If you feel latching is too tired and exhausting, you can replace night feeds with bottle (you will still need to get up and pump), this way you can also gauge her intake. Whatever it is, your body will soon get used to this routine and regardless of pumping or latching, you will feel less exhausting. Hang on mama, goodluck! *I am using babyexpress be free btw.*

Read more