Teaching the alphabets at what age?

How early in life do you start teaching your child the alphabet?

Teaching the alphabets at what age?
16 Replies
 profile icon
Write a reply

Hi Samantha different parents do it at different times, but i started playing with them with the alphabet even before they were a year old. by 1 year my babies could point out a lot of letters when asked. i didn't sit down with them with a list of the letters though, definitely not in an A to Z format. instead, i would point it out and say it out loud as and what letter i saw. gradually it became more of a play thing for them

Read more

Teaching the alphabet is foundational for reading and writing. you can start teaching your child the alphabet when he's around 2 — but don't expect full mastery for some time. Here’s what a preschooler should know before Kindergarten: - Recite/sing the alphabetIdentify uppercase letters - Identify lowercase letters - Match uppercase letters to lowercase letters - Identify the sounds each letter makes

Read more

18mo. It only happened when he started showing interest in O and keep identify O everywhere. However, I don't intentionally drill, only when he express interest in letters he see ard us, I 'll share what's the alphabet as i feel that the schs will most certainly teach abcs in future (part of their kpi isn't it haha). Would very much prefer fun song music and books for now

Read more

It's never too early. I seldom limit my child's ability to learn based on age. If I see the alphabet I tell her what it is and talk to her about the things that start with the letter G for example. There are also surely toys you have in your home that has the alphabet, or the foam mat? I start little by little just taking it like casual conversations.

Read more