Being Called Stupid for Not Taking HL

Hi mommies, just needed a place to rant. I am currently 39 weeks pregnant and still working. For your info, I'm under subsidised route in KKH. So I don't see a fixed gynae. I work in the education industry, so I do not have annual leave. Taking leave means I short-change my students and colleagues, which I hate to do. I also do not want to spend my maternity leave for prenatal and prefer to save them to spend time caring for my baby. A "friend" who gave birth recently had taken 2 months worth of Hospitalisation Leave straight before her dleivery despite not having any issue with her pregnancy or health. Her private gynae gives in to her requests and her workplace does not question her. So yesterday she contacted me and asked me why I am still working. I said I'm still well and not given HL so I'll just go to work. Plus staying active should help in the delivery. She laughed at me about the staying active part (she believes pregnant woman should not do anything at all) and for taking a bus to work instead of taxi, then called me stupid for going to a public hospital as they are stricter when issuing HLs. I'm not saying one cannot take HL to rest, but I'm just annoyed that I'm being called stupid and looked down on for saving money and going to a public hospital by someone who abuses the system and the kindness of her workplace/colleagues. Sorry just needed to rant.

20 Replies
 profile icon
Write a reply