Will my bottle fed baby know I'm her mummy?

Recently I've been feeling insecure and worried. My baby has been bottle fed since day 1 as not able to DL. I've been pumping for the past 3 months and every time I pump, I leave her with the helper or my mother in law, I'm worried my baby will prefer them over me as I feel like I'm spending time away from her each time I pump... Can someone tell me if my baby knows its me? I pump 6 x a day instead of 7x now and I'm seriously thinking of giving formula instead of ebm bcos that means I can spend more time with baby... Idk.. Its hard. #1stimemom #firstbaby #advicepls #bantusharing #pleasehelp

6 Replies
 profile icon
Write a reply

Hi! I’m a ep mum since day 1 and sometime I will bottle feed my baby prior to pumping / after pumping (just drag a little) or my husband will feed her. She’s 11mo now and I’m still pumping and yes ! Your baby will know you are the mummy. There are many other ways to build bonds with the baby (not just feeding). You bathe her, cuddle her, play with her, pat her to slp . The opportunities are endless! Oh and to add on, she attend ifc at 5.5mo. And she sticks to me like crazy at home. Don’t worry about it! As for whether you want to continue to breastfeed or change to fm, it’s up to you. But for sure, it doesn’t affect the bonding you & ur child have.

Read more
3y ago

Thanks for the reassurance. I just feel that she will not like me as much as the helper or my in law. I actually feed her 80% of the time daily, bathe her and also pat her to sleep but it gets upsetting when she cries when she's with me when I pat her to sleep but when she's in the arms of my in law she instantly just stops and sleeps.. I just feel like she might not always want me even tho I try to make myself as available as I can.. She is reaching 3 mths soon. On top of that, my in law uses SO MUCH PERFUME and I worried she can't smell that I'm her mummy once she comes back after I ebm