Low Red Blood Cell

#firsttimemom Hi all, i have a low red blood cell result during pregnancy. And the report came in but didnt understand the remarks. I'm scared of having thalessimia as its my first time pregnancy. Can anyone help me explain or have similar remarks. Thank u in advance! Remarks: RBCs comprise hypochromic microcytes with few elliptocytes, few fragmented cells and occasional target cells. No abnormal WBCs seen.

8 Replies
 profile icon
Write a reply

Hi there, Better you check the remarks with you gyane, as he / she able to explain better. However , just want to share with you, That i have thalassemia minor, its run on my family, Iam 6month preg and FTM. My gynae asked me to take iron, folid acid, aspirin and calcium tabs 500mg (my other gynae friend advised me to take 1500mg, but i follow my gyane). On last test screening my baby is healthy but i have uterine notching which doctor said not to be worried too much, but i need to balance it with eat more iron foods aside from iron supplement such as broccolli. Hope this will give a piece of mind not worry too much if having thalassemia 😊.

Read more
1mo ago

Folid acid - long before i got pregnant Aspirin - week 6th (when my baby already have heartbeat) Iron & calcium - week 12th For iron i take 1tab on alternate day, as in recent blood test result my iron is more than enough in my body, but my HB is 9.8. Most importany for thalasemia patient, doctor monitoring the mommy HB. And the blood flow to the baby. Trust your gynae, if not sure try to consult them again.